This qualification reflects the role of individuals who apply the skills and knowledge to work in Local Government.

On completion of this qualification individuals will work with independence, take responsibility for their own work functions and outputs.

Possible job titles can include but is not limited to:

  • Local Laws officer
  • Maintenance Team leader
  • Operational Works Supervisor
  • Parking inspector
  • Ranger
  • Rates officer

The skills in this qualification is applied in accordance with Commonwealth and State or Territory legislation, Australian standards and industry codes of practice.

This qualification is made up of 5 core units and 7 electives.  

Elective units are chosen in accordance with your workplace needs and with consultation with your employer.

The LGA40120 Certificate IV in Local Government consists of 5 Core units.

These units are designed to provide a foundation of skills and knowledge required to work within Local Government Sector.